Solution to get the price on electricity in homey

Hey.

Anyone have a solution for getting price of electricity showing in homey?

Tried with an aop called spot prices, but didn’t get a good solution.

Perhaps get some information from nordpool somehow?

Anyone has an idea?

I have no experience with it, but perhaps it’s possible to multiply the kWh with the price/kWh with logic variables? And then display it on a virtual thermostat? That seems one of the few (or only?) devices that can display a value…

In countries more sophisticated than NL it’s quite common for consumers to use spot pricing for electricity, where prices can change every half hour. So you need an app (like the aforementioned Spot Prices) that is able to retrieve the current price.

Ah, didn’t know that, thx for clearifying.

Though we could discuss whether flexible prices are more sophisticated. I’d rather know what I’d sign up for.
But that’s a whole other discussion… :wink:

Nordpool is not for end consumers.
Hafslund eg is a client at Nordpool. So what you see at Nordpool is most likely not what Hafslund will charge you anyways.

That is true that nordpool is not intented straight for end customer use.

But in some contries, for example in Finland, the electric energy selling companies have one solution for pricing that customer pays the nordpool spot price + gross margin for the energy company.

This way the customer is actually paying close to the nordpool price for the energy. This will and is encouraging the consumer to control the loading based on the nordpool spot price.

I have done the load control (water boiler, electric heating and PHEV), and so far the the savings in the electric transmission+taxes+energy have been around 20% yearly compared to fixed pricing. The corona have added also the savings because the energy price have been quite low during this time.