Experience on Homey: What I have done

Hi all

After I bought Homey Pro summer 2019 I have very often ran into problem that I’m out of ideas what to automate. Might be a common problem amongs the home automators? Therefore I wanted to share what I have done with Homey and what is still to come. Others can respond to this post for their additional ideas.

My background on automation that I’m an electrical engineer and have previously worked on automation systems and made real time control systems. I can read wide range of coding and understand the logic but haven’t got the skills for writing code in any language. So Homey is right on the spot for me.

I’m not so into controlling lights and making scenes, but I have done some of those also to my home. My main focus has been more on energy saving, security. And also my idea of smart home is that everyone know how to use it (or this way I got it approved with my wife :wink: )

Before I bought Homey I had following automation systems in my house:

1. Danfoss One/Link underfloor electrical heating control system. Danfoss uses the zwave frequency in the controller but unfortunately it’s operated on some propietary protocol and cannot be straight connected to Homey. I have asked about API developing from Danfoss and they said that API is planned on 2020. (I’m not holding my breath for that)
  2. Tado AC controller to control Air to Air heatpump/air conditioning. It’s now connected to Homey with Tado-app.
  3. Philips Hue controller and couple of lights connected
  4. Harmony Hub and remote. Amplifier, TV and BR player connected.

What I have done so far

Light controls