Why is Homey Forum so hostile?

I’ve been using Homey for about 6 months, having transferred from Homeseer. I love the product and it works very well for me. As a new user, I have looked on the forum for various things and usually I have found an answer to my problem.

But while reading other forum users’ questions and answers I have noticed a great deal of hostility between users. This ranges from a smug attitude on the part of people who think they know all the answers, to outright rudeness - such as calling a user in difficulty “stupid”.

I think this is such a shame because people come to the forum looking for help and the atmosphere does not seem always supportive. This is very different from the Homeseer community which I always felt was supportive of less experienced users.

Do others agree, or am I being too sensitive?

11 Likes

In general I think most people on this forum are genuinly willing to help others out. But sometimes new users come barging in making all kinds of wrong assumptions or trolling and then indeed some forum members tend to react a little strong. Speaking for myself I have always have received lots of help when I had an issue.

5 Likes

:+1:

…just joking.

This question belongs rather to Off topic category but let me ask you - do you have this perception just by reading some questions/answers, or you do have your own positive/negative experience ?

I mean it because there are basically more types of users :

• those asking without even reading or searching - usually they got link to forum rules, but quite often, regardless of it, they don’t read it anyway. If you don’t respect rules, it’s hard to get respected back
  • those trolling - very often, first question and immediately negative one (eg. it’s shitty product etc.) - they usually get what the got for