Very unstable setup with many routers

Hi all,

I’m new to this and I have read many posts and guides about how to set up a stable mesh network, but most of them are about having enough routers for your end devices which is the opposite of my problem since i have only routers…
I have the Homey Pro 2023 and I’m trying to setup this for only two floors in my house. All sockets and all light switches/dimmers are smart and will of course act as routers. I have only two single end devices. If I add more than ~20 routers the system is super slow and unstable. When trying to turn off a simple lamp it takes between 0,5->30 seconds, and often I even get “timed out after 30000ms” in the app. Right now I have 26 routers and 1 end device, and I’m not able to add any more routers. Trying to pair a new socket just ends in timeout, nothing happens.

In total I have 48 routers I’d like to include in the setup:

• 1st floor: 23 sockets (Futurehome), 1 thermostat (Elko Smart), 9 light dimmers (Elko Smart)
  • 2nd floor: 13 sockets, 1 thermostat, 2 light dimmers

I also have some Plejd devices and HeatIt controls connected, and they are working 100%.

My Homey is connected through ethernet, is placed in the “center” of the first floor and I have totally disabled the 2,4GHz on my Wifi to avoid any interference during testing. I have also tested PTP (1 hour +) a couple of times.

Right now my setup looks like this:

|loadavg|[1.54,1.32,0.97]|
| --- | --- |
|uptime|1078.52|
|cpus| 	[{"model":"Cortex-A72","speed":1500,"times":{"user":210130,"nice":4610,"sys":122560,"idle":720860,"irq":0}},{"model":"Cortex-A72","speed":1500,"times":{"user":221840,"nice":3520,"sys":121830,"idle":728380,"irq":0}},{"model":"Cortex-A72","speed":1500,"times":{"user":192170,"nice":4800,"sys":112760,"idle":767670,"irq":0}},{"model":"Cortex-A72","speed":1500,"times":{"user":236550,"nice":3990,"sys":130340,"idle":703550,"irq":0}}]