Mertik Maxitrol

I am new to Homey, I was a Domoticz user. In Domoticz I was able to control my fireplace (on, flame-up / flame-down and off) through my connected RFXcom device. The remote the fireplace uses is the Mertik Maxitrol (B6R-H8TL3B).

I searched the forum but could not find any clues in how to add this remote. I read some stuff on IR signal learning but I dont have a clue how that can be done, is there a generic IR learning app? I see some options in the developer portal but I don’t think that is the way to go.

I have got my Somfy RTS screens working because there was an app for it but I am looking for a more “generic” app that can do it all. Can some one pinpoint me to the right direction please?

Thanks,
Victor

Sorry, just found a way I guess…Device -> Add (+) -> Homey -> Infrared.

1 Like

Hey @VictorvanHillo did it work for you? I also got a fireplace which uses the Mertik Maxitrol B6R-R8P.

Hi Shaun,

No it did not work for me. I think I need to make an app for it. There is some documentation on the internet for it but I am not sure if I am up to the task :blush:

Regards,
Victor

Hi @VictorvanHillo, thanks for you quick reply. What a shame that i didn’t work out. If you managed to make an app please let me know😅!

Regards,
Shaunmitchel

@VictorvanHillo @Shaunmitchel I am currently looking into this. The remote sends its signal over 868.1 Mhz. When trying to interpret the signal I found that it looks like its modulated with OFDM. This is quite advanced stuff and even tough I am up to some simple reverse engineering of RF signals, this is one tough cookie. I am trying to find someone to help me out but I don’t even think Homey itself is able to demodulate signals like this. (I believe Homey only supports the most “simple/common” modulations.)

I came a little bit further, I am pretty sure the signal is encoded with 2-GFSK so there are more odds that i will get this working. Will keep my progress posted here for anyone interested.