Matter Device Support

Hi,
Tried looking this up but no luck… I have purchased 2 Aqara door/window sensors P2 (Matter supported) but I keep getting errors adding the two sensors. Same on Google home. Pairing keeps failing while it does recognizes the sensors. Does this has to do with Thread? (ie no Thread support yet on HP2023)

No, because otherwise it wouldn’t have recognized your sensors at all. I think the current Matter implementation of Homey just lacks specific support for these sensors.

Ok, thanks. But then they should be able connect to Google Home I guess but that might require a series 2 Nest hub

With Zigbee, Aqara is known for using “custom” attributes that are undocumented. Perhaps with Matter they’re doing the same?

@robertklep @Inunekko
I’m not experienced with Matter, but this shop mentions a Thread border router is needed for this sensor

Athom also mentioned it for Matter devices, which use Thread, to work for now;
this Aqara sensor should work in that case.
If not → report to Athom beta channel.

A Nest hub as mentioned should work, I’ve a Nest hub which advertises itself as border router on HA

It doesn’t say which type of sensor, but I doubt all possible types of sensors are supported.

The issue isn’t a lack of border router, because otherwise Homey wouldn’t have found anything.

If Matter is really a standard, it should :stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye::grimacing:
But yeah, then Athom should not have stated this black on white:
The beta allows you to pair and control the device types listed below.
- sensors

But we all know they’re always “a bit optimistic” in statements :sweat_smile: , and the word ‘beta’ is there with a purpose :innocent:

Like I wrote, I’m not experienced with Matter, but the stuff I found and posted tells me a border router is a must with this sensor (until Thread is implemented).

We’ll find out when @Inunekko gets the sensor working via Matter some day

That’s not how these things work.