Aqara FP2, mmWave presence detection on WiFi

EDIT 2024-01-18:
@Martin_Verbeek has made a fantastic effort in creating the amazing HomeKit Controller app that is made for bringing the FP2 into Homey. It supports presence, motion, zones… Just stellar work.
Be sure to check out the thread for his app here.

I just saw that there’s a new FP2 presence sensor coming out now in March, and contrary to the other Aqara sensors it doesn’t use Zigbee but rather Wifi. Probably makes it trickier for someone to make an integration into Homey for it, but…

7 Likes

We could perhaps use it in HomeKit and activate virtual dummy switches through automations in Homekit? :smiley:

I’m definitely interested in getting a few of these, homey integration would be awesome. I’m no programmer but I’m considering learning… perhaps I’ll give it a crack when I get my homey pro… if someone competent doesn’t do it first haha.

very interesting - I’m convinced that microwave / mmwave is the ultimate way to detect presence in a room.

I’m eager to get devices to do that - preferably where you can set range and sensitivity .

I want to automate the (heat exchanger) ventilation per room with an airvalve - to be steered from presence and CO2 per room.

PIR’s dont do this reliably because you need to be moving. If i sleep or work I hardly move.

I just want a good indication of whether someone’s in bed, and if someone is sitting in the sofa.

2 Likes

It would definitely help with my IR panel in my office → I walk out → IR heating switches off :sunglasses:

2 Likes

Just CO2 should be enough to control your hvac, maybe combine it with a RH. But a MMWAVE would be nesicerry for this purpose. You would like the HVAC to keep running for a while while the person has left to get the air quality to default again.