Zigbee performance

Hi

I’m a new Homey Pro user, but have some years with automation experience with Home assistant, Zigbee2MQTT, Node Red (in HA), Deconz and such. My main goal is to have a solution where I can use different devices without using proprietary bridges.

I bought a Homey and my thought to use that for the holy grail for all automation regardless of communication protocol (zigbee, z-wave, 433 mhz etc).
My first test was to create flows using a Hue dimmer with Hue light and implement same functionalilty as original (example longpress dimming and switching light temperature). But that was harder to accomplish than I anticipated. I ended up buying a Philips bridge and that worked perfect. But why isn’t flows working better without proprietary bridges? And is there anything I can do to make it better?

I also have a Namron zigbee rotary dimmer that I have linked to some Ikea zigbee light, and have connected them via flows for on, off and dimming. It works, but are very slow. I’m a bit disappointed and I’m not sure if Homey fits my needs to be able to connect various devices regardless of make.

In my opinion Homey is coming a long way, but still remains far from the Holy Grail. HomeAssistant will probably come further, but at the cost of user friendlyness for the less tech savvy.

Real-time dimming control without z-wave to z-wave associations or Zigbee touchlink like direct control is where Homey isn’t shining. I believe the HUE bridge is doing a lot with this under water using grouping and things like that. I assume that is why it is requiring partners to go through some kind of Friends with HUE certification.

Homey isn’t doing all those things. So it allows more devices such as Aqara, which has its own taste if Zigbee, but is also less sophisticated.

Z-wave dimming is fine for me, but probably only so because I use z-wave remotes using direct associations. I doubt I would have gotten it as smooth using flows.