Zigbee Hub choice for UK

Hi
This might have been answered elsewhere but seems to be a lot of conflicting info so apologies if it has been answered. I got a bit carried away with the Smart Home bug and realised I was up to 18 Zigbee devices (all end points) and while they are connected, a few things failed to work after adding one more so understand I need a few hubs (ideally one for each 5 I believe) but struggling to find a definitive list of compatible hubs i.e. just basic hubs that do not need to be plugged into a NUC or PI etc. I do have a spare Aqara E1 but couldn’t see how this is supported. Looking at forum seems Xiaomi is preferred but only the Chinese version. Any good recommendations for a basic hub available in UK?

I was a little surprised Homey Pro has a limit of 15 direct when some hubs state they can support 128+ devices - is there any reason for this limit?
Thanks
Darrell,.

You shouldn’t be looking for “hubs”, but for “Zigbee routers”. Most Zigbee devices that are permanently powered (light bulbs, smart plugs, etc) will act as a Zigbee router and will improve your Zigbee network.

Assuming we’re talking about the “old” (pre-2023) Homey’s: those have a limit of about 15 to 20 directly connected devices, but that doesn’t mean the network is limited to that amount. Some people have more than 50 Zigbee devices in their Homey network.

That’s why routers are important: end devices that are connected to a router will not be connected directly to Homey, and most routers support 5 to 10 devices connected to them, which is how you can create a larger network.

The 15-device limit is due to the outdated Zigbee controller on the old Homey’s (and also the Homey Bridge). The new Homey Pro’s have a more modern controller that should support more directly connected devices.