Philips hue outdoor motion sensor - adding to homey pro

Hello,

i am new to Homey and i recently got my Homey Pro (23). I am struggling with adding some devices i thought that would work with Homey Pro perfectly. In particular Philips Hue outdoor motion sensor.

I have tried adding this device via Phillips Hue app but without success (it probably works only for standard indoor motion sensor? Idk).

I have also tried adding it via add Philips Hue, without the bridge but all i have achieved is adding it as unknown zigbee device which is completely useless.

I have searched for a solution on this forum, but havent found one.

Btw i even bought Philips Hue Bridge 2.0 to make it work but it made no difference.

Could please help me? Thanks a lot.

For all devices that you want to connect to Homey, the following applies:

• Check the app page to see if the device is mentioned. If not, and there isn’t a “generic” device, it’s likely not supported by Homey.
  • When you add a Zigbee device and you get the message it’s been added as a generic/unknown Zigbee device, it means there wasn’t an app available to support the device. Homey has generic Zigbee support, but it’s very limited (only lights and sockets, I think)
  • Check if there’s a test version of a particular app available. You can do that by navigating to the app’s store page and add test to the URL. For instance, there’s a test version available for the “Hue, without the bridge” app that mentions a few outdoor sensors: Philips Hue, without the bridge | Homey
1 Like

I have the Hue Outdoor motion sensor and have them connected now directly with HP2023 and the ”without hub” app. Now it could be possible, that there is a new hardware version of the sensor and indeed is not recognized with the app.

As for the Philips Hue app, you do need the Hue hub, pair the motion sensors to the hub, and only then try to pair the motion sensor. Outdoor sensor does work this way also.

1 Like