How to group devices?

Hello

I have multiple door sensors and would like to group them:

• with a virtual device (I guess) so that it shows a global status: ALL OPEN / ALL CLOSED (if all underlying devices are OPEN / CLOSED)
  • on the app, to show all door sensors together in a list, without having to go room by room (where my devices are / should be located)

I’m pretty new to Homey, so forgive me if my question is pretty basic

Thanks

Requirement 1 can be made easily with the < group > app.

Requirement 1 & 2 can be made with an Advanced Virtual Device by using the Device Capabilities app.

More info and examples about the AVD can be found here.

1 Like

An alternative approach to consider is to organise your devices into zones by device group instead of strictly by room. I have a zone for all my doors and windows, with zones inside that for downstairs, upstairs. Then I can meet both your requirements 1 and 2 using the built-in zones and zone activity.

I extend the approach for other devices such as lights too. In practise, I find that having all my upstairs lights showing together for example is more useful than having a room-by-room view with sensors, lights and other device types grouped together.

At the end of the day this is definitely a matter of personal preference though so your mileage may well vary.

More info on zone activity here

And here’s what a bit of my device zones look like

1 Like

Thanks, I will try the Device Capabilities app, i did not know it
Once I have tried I will confirm here it’s working

thanks for the suggestion. However i do want to keep a view by room too, so i was looking for an alternative view rather than a replacement.
It is amazing to me the contrast with Homey. The overall experience is that of a real user friendly system, but there are really basic things (such as view by device type for instance) that are totally missing.