Homey Pro (2019) brought to its knees?!

Hello fellow Homey’s - and I hope someone from Athom!

I am very new to the Homey universe but I am a long time Smart Home owner. I have approx. 100 units and I am planning til expand the network with lots (!) more. I primarily use IKEA Trådfri (80), Aqara (10) and Hue (10). It was all connected to HomeKit.

Info: I have about 50-60 Flows in Homey but expect this to be at least double - that is if I don’t through in the towel before that…

I have now transferred all devices to Homey from the IKEA, Aqara and Hue bridges - and boy it is slow. I mean SLOW! Bulbs failing to turn on, Homey loosing connections to devices, Homey looses connection to my Wifi, lights that won’t turn off, Blinds that won’t open an so on…

And in the middle of all this there is me looking like a complete and utter fool spending this kind of money on a device that I in theory already had with the individual bridges and Homekit - with a better result.

What is going on? Can this kind of setup really bring a Homey Pro to its knees?

I have made some delays which helps somewhat in some instances - but it really looks idiotic when the six hallway lights turn on with 1 second delay on each. The same goes with kitchen lights etc. And it still isn’t stable.

To be fair: I was also struggling with the IKEA bridge as is is designed to handle 50 devices max. But even with 80+ devices it outperforms Homey by miles!

By the way - an idea to keep the amounts of Flows to a minimum: In the “When” section add an “or” feature. This way I don’t need a Flow to each of the dimmers/buttons in one room…

2 Likes

You’re running into a few long-standing issues with Homey:

• flows that operate on multiple devices can exhibit issues with one or more devices not responding to the commands being sent because (my suspicion) Homey randomly drops actions;
  • Homey’s WiFi and networking can be very unstable