Changing Zigbee Channel?

In several older posts I read the zigbee channel can not be changed. It seems that in the 5.0 Beta FW this has changed (not sure if thi swas also in 4.2 because I am new to Homey and started with the 5.0 RC). I have about 35 devices linked, about half of which powered/router so plenty of coverage.

I also found the reference to this page:

On the Developers page - Tools - Zigbee there is a dropdown where you can change the channel. In my case it’s currently set to 16, which is in the middle of crowded wifi 2.4Ghz channels around our house. So I thought I’d change to channel 21, close to wifi channel 9-10, which seems relatively quiet. It displays a message that some sensors might not automatically reconnect, and when I choose to continus I unfortunately get a bunch of Network errors, and the channel stays at 16. :frowning:

Questions:

• How does Homey pick this channel?
  • I guess it stays fixed forever once it’s set?
  • Why does it only go up until Ch 21? Hardware limitation? There seem to be 26 channels defined in the Zigbee standard?
  • When I reset Homey and restore a previous backup will it also include the Zigbee channel (I assume it does, just asking)?
  • Has anyone ever succeeded in changing the channel without starting from scratch? :slight_smile:

BTW: Pressing the reset button on Aqara sensors once seems to work fine to reconnect, or start a re-pair if that does not work.

[Update] Opened a support ticket with Athom.
[Update] They found a possible issue and are investigating.

1 Like

Did you find your issue?
im facing simaler issue

• Only if you RESET zigbee (and lose all paired devices) it scans for a quiet channel by itself and selects the best channel number. Otherwise only you can change the channel manually.
    And maybe it changes the channel after a factory reset. Many Homey’s seem to be on ch.11, sort of default channel (I assume)