Apple homekit

hi, can anyone when apple homekit will work. I just problem it says it does not work. Brian

1 Like

Works for me. I use Siri a lot.

Hi welcome to the community,
For all your questions pls read Trouble with Homey? first. Then search the community and edit your post to add required info.

Iā€™m still on Homey 4.2. I have been using Homey with the HomyKit app for around 6 months now. Iā€™ve never been able to get it to work reliablyā€¦

Homey regularly losses network connection to all of my Apple devices. Mostly when my phone or IPad have gone into standby mode but also randomly happens while Iā€™m actually using them.

Quite often my Apple devices say they canā€™t connect. If im lucky and I wait 30 seconds and then try again it worksā€¦ Im almost guaranteed to lose connection to Homey (via HomeKit) when Iā€™m away from my home and my phone is connected to 4G LTEā€¦

My iPad Pro is acting as the HomeKit hub in my house. The phone i use is an iPhone XRā€¦ All are on the latest apple updatesā€¦

Does anyone else here have issues using Homey with Apple HomeKit ?

When I was still using Homey for Homekit, I had similar issues. It was never really stable. I blame Homeyā€™s networking.

Never any problems as such here. ATV is the hub

I might try an Apple TV or HomePod as a hub instead and see how that goes.

Rob, what do you think the cause is exactly ? Is it something that Athom canā€™t fix in their code. Are there any work aroundā€™s. ?

Do Athom really care about HomeKit ? After all this time they still have it buried in the experiment section and havenā€™t formally made it apart of the system. Have they made any effort to find or encourage another developer to get it up to 100% working . There are many IOS users out thereā€¦

The ironic thing i find is that Homey ā€˜s look and user interface is very much styled off HomeKit yet they donā€™t seem to care about it from what I can seeā€¦