Which interface to do what?

I am fairly new to Homey and struggling to work out what screen I should be using for what.

I am hoping there is a flowchart/map of functionality and how to get to it.

I find myself sitting a computer with an iPad or iPhone switching between devices to do different things

For example

1. To restart an App - go to iOS device Homey App
  2. To edit an Advanced Flow go to computer and use browser
  3. Rename a Device return to the iOS App
  4. Use Insights to combine multiple devices histories into one graph (+Add Chart) return to Web interface
  5. To view energy consumption/Battery levels using Energy Tab return to iOS App

In the Web interface you get All Devices have Status Indicators, in iOS Most but not all Devices show Status indicators

I am sure there are many more of these.

Is there a guide/Map/Flowchart?

Must admit much easier now I can run the iOS App on my Mac desktop alongside the Desktop Web App and have a big enough screen to put them side by side.

But wish there was more consistency as it would improve the user experience.

Or am I just missing something really obvious?

Well, on some level this is how it is at the time.
However, you can rename and move a device in the web interface by right clicking on it.

Advanced flows are web interface only.
App configuration is app only.
Insights are web interface only.
All status indicators on one tile is web interface only.

I believe the web interface is still in beta, and I assume all functionality will be available there on some point.

Some functionality, like advanced flows and insights, in my opinion would not function well on a smaller screen, so I doubt those will be implemented in the app.

A lot of the app settings also can be done on the developer page.
https://tools.developer.homey.app/tools/app-settings

1 Like