Seeking help for reading my Ecowater softener with my Homey

Dear community,

I’m seeking help to scrape a website to read values from my water softener. I found a python script that does the trick. I actually got it up and running on my laptop, giving me the results I’m looking for. My next challenge is to get it integrated in my Homey. I was thinking of doing this via a JavaScript fetch functions and POST and GET methods. Unfortunately, I am not able to get it up and running, hence seeking help!
What I learned so far is that I am able to connect to the website, but then I struggle to get further. The website returns a hidden token that you somehow need to pass on to really get to your values. The python script does this, but I don’t understand how. I’m not experienced with python and not seasoned with fetching data from websites using JavaScript.
This is (part of) the python script I found, which uses a couple of libraries. Hope someone can give me some hints to get it further.

import requests
import json
import re
import paho.mqtt.client as mqtt
import paho.mqtt.publish as publish

Regex to match the hidden input on the initial log in page

request_validation_re = re.compile(r’')

The serial number of your ecowater device

dsn = { “dsn”: ‘serialnumber’ }

The initial form data

payload = {
“Email” : “emailaddress”,
“Password” : “password”,
“Remember” : ‘false’
}

The headers needed for the JSON request

headers = {
‘Accept’: ‘/’,
‘Accept-Encoding’: ‘gzip, deflate, br’,
‘Accept-Language’ : ‘en-US,en;q=0.5’,
‘X-Requested-With’: ‘XMLHttpRequest’,
‘Content-Type’: ‘application/x-www-form-urlencoded; charset=UTF-8’,
‘User-Agent’: ‘Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Ubuntu; Linux x86_64; rv:73.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/73.0’
}

with requests.Session() as s:
# Initial GET request
g = s.get(‘https://www.wifi.ecowater.com/Site/Login’)

# Grab the token from the hidden input
tokens = request_validation_re.findall(g.text)

# Add the token to the form data payload