New ZOOZ App and ZEN17 Universal relay

Hi,

I was excited when I found that Home now had added an app for ZOOZ devices.

As I have had two ZEN17 for months without being able to add them to my Homey environment I rushed to power them up and paired.

Both ZEN17 were brand new and newer opened. The hardware is ver. 1.0 and firmware is version 1.04.

Both first and second step of the pairing were acknowledged and I proceeded to entering the 5 digit Z-wave DSK PIN. 5-10 seconds after submitting the PIN an error message popped up: “Something went wrong when communicating with the device. Please try again.”

Of course I tried again, several times - and with different distances from the Homey Pro hub to the ZEN17… And I unpacked the second relay too and tried with that, but to no avail. The process stopped at the same step for both devices.

How can I proceed and do some troubleshooting here? Please note that I’m a Homey Pro newbie so I need detailed description of what to do…

Thanks a lot if someone can help me get these ZOOZ devices up and running under Homey…

regards Tor

Welcome Tor,

When it’s a battery operated device, make sure to pres the pair pin each 2 seconds or so, to prevent it from ‘sleeping’. Also make sure to hold it just a few centimeters from Homey during the pairing process.
Otherwise, contact the developer here by creating an ‘issue’:

You can find support links like this, at the homey.app store app page (Issues: Report an issue)

Hi Tor,
instead of the original PIN, try to use 5 times zero = 00000.
This means that the device will be included unsecure, but this has the advantage that it has to send less data.

Even if this works, you should contact support.

Edit

What you can also try out: Restart Homey, wait about 15-30 minutes and then add the device.

It worked when using five zeros as DSK ID!!

However I understand that now the device’s communication is not encrypted?