My first week with Homey

So thought my first post on the forum should be a summary of my first week with Homey. This is not meant as a review, critique of analysis of the capabilities. I fully expect that after only a week there are things I’m not doing correctly and look forward to being correct or pointed in the right direction but I thought I was useful to put these down for others like me who are trying to decide whether to jump on the Homey train or not.

To start with a bit of background, I’m an IT professional, my background is Infrastructure but I sit across all disciplines in an architecture, that means I’m currently good at thinking and designing solutions but often no-longer have the skills to implement the technical capability myself. I’m not a coder but I’ve made a commitment to learn JS, both to give me more sympathy for the coders who work for me but also I want to be able to actively contribute to the home automation community – and actually I’ve realised it isn’t as hard as I thought it was.

I’m coming from SmartThings, why, because the app is so bad, I mean unusably bad, it logs me and my wife out every day, requires killing frequently, and logging in and out and it looses config and customisation – I’ve lost my patience with it, so I’m bought a Homey Pro, after a weekend, I’ve installed 16 apps, 9 sensors, a heating system, lights (both Hue and others) through hubs and directly, integrated Harmony, Sonos and Alexa and linked to Homekit and connected some Somfy blinds directly.

And on the Somfy blinds, this made trying Homey a free role of the dice, Somfy Tahoma is £300 and would only get used for the blinds and integrated into SmartThings so why not try Homey, get a better HA platform and control of my blinds in one and so far has been excellent.

So let me kick-on with my observations: