Prospective buyer, should I get it?

Hey everyone,

I’m doing a major renovation and planning on “smarting out” everything I can, lights, blinds, aircon, etc. I think I’d end up with many different brands of sensors and devices, hence I’m considering getting Homey to be the center of everything. We’re mainly an Apple household, so I’d want everything to work through Homekit but I know many devices are not directly supported.

The other alternative I’m also considering is Homebridge. Keep in mind, I’m a developer, very comfortable working with node.js. But I do appreciate convenience, ease of setup and reliability.

Anyone with experience on both ? Is homey that much more convenient to justify the added cost ? I know this is a subjective topic but would be really interested to hear opinions and appreciate any answers.

You will find most people on the forum are bias.

Sounds like Homey will give you the ability to ‘smart out’ everything as well as the option to choose the device which is right for you, rather than one supported by Homebridge.

Further to that as a developer comfortable in nodejs, you will be able to by what ever you want (with an API) and easily add it to your smart home automation.

I like it and am happy, however some people have had issues (as always) - if you want an honest no bias opinion - have a read through the forums.

Just be aware that v2 RC dropped a couple of days ago, so there is lot of talk about things not working with in it. (as it is a RC).

I had a Homebridge setup for a long time, although it was relatively limited in terms of the number of devices that I was controlling with it (mostly 433Mhz sockets).

I eventually stopped using it because it was unstable (too many times, Homekit lost connection to Homebridge). Also, Homekit automation is rather limited compared to Homey’s flows.