Loxone integration

I am a retired software engineer with over 45 years of experience with a lot of programming languages (C#, C, Javascript, Typescript, Basic, Delphi, COBOL, etc.).

I don’t have a Homey Pro yet but I do own a Loxone Miniserver that runs my home. Loxone is pretty closed and hard to extend outside the interfaces it already supports. The software is proprietary and does not allow plugins or software extensions. The only programming that can be done is in a Program Module using PicoC (a Subset of the K&R C languate). Support for Matter is coming but will only be implemented when the Matter team has finished their work. That could take several year is my assessment.

Homey Pro does support third party development. I’m wondering how I should go about this. Now Loxone has an API. With this API one can download the full configuration of the Miniserver, issue commands to control devices via HTTP(S). The configuration tells me which devices are available in the Miniserver and I can control them using secure login and HTTP(S) commands.

I would like to start a project that integrates the Loxone Miniserver with Homey Pro. I’ve seen the “Hello World” video which gave me a little insight in how Homey Pro allows Apps to be created. The basic Idea I have is that the Homey App will automatically connect to the Miniserver and download the config. All devices in the config should than be made available in the Homey Pro environment with the commands to control them.

Before I buy a Homey Pro: would that be possible with the current SDK of Homey Pro?

Have a look.

I am playing with a Loxone system here and have interfaced it bidirectionally with many external devices but I wouldn’t say in a consistent or professional manner.

My first main need was with my C-Bus lighting system which has about 150 loads. I was not enamoured with Loxone’s lighting controller. My C-Bus is integrated via UDP in PicoC.