Hub replacement

Hey homey community, I’m new to the homey ecosystem, so I was hopping somebody can help me out here, because so far I feel like I’ve been riped off with the homey pro.
The main reason I bought the homey pro was to replace my hubs since it has every major wireless protocol in one device. Or so I thought. Of the 6 hubs, so far I managed to replace just 1 successfully, the ikea hub. The philips hue system acts inconsistent without the hub, and on several forums people were suggesting to keep the hub. So I thought that OK, I can keep that, since I will replace the rest. Then tried the flic smart buttons, only to be met with the message that I need the hub to be able to use them, which is weird because they use Bluetooth, so it should connect fine to the homey pro.
Moved on, tried the tado smart thermostats. Exactly the same message, that I need the hub for that also. Then the eufy system, surprise…same message…need the hub. The only one I haven’t tried, out of disappointment, was the Gardena hub.

I know it has other abilities, but without this all in one wireless protocols, it’s just a more advanced Google home.

Am I doing something wrong? Or did I just buy a 400 € replacement for my 10 € ikea hub?? :slightly_smiling_face:

1 Like

Alex,
The “complain tone” can be addressed to support@athom.com, thank you😉

Here we’re trying to help eachother out, share hints & how-to’s, some laughs and some nonsense. Homey is not a perfect ‘replace all’ device, but I like it.
There’s tons of quite a lot of stuff you can use without hubs/bridges/gateways.

In your case only tado and Gardena need a gateway

Google Home is really something else. For instance it only has 5 types of triggers: speech, geofence, time, sun rise/set and “ignoring alarm clock”. Not even a sensor.

While the Pro is hard to come by these days, you’ll have it sold in no time.:wink::upside_down_face:

1 Like