Homey Pro (early 2023) paid backup, should I have it?

I am new to homey since about 1 month and I have signed up for the online backup functionality.
However, soon 1 month have passed and I am about to pay monthly for this online backup.

When I have search this forum it seems that to restore from this online backup is not as straight forward as Athom want us to believe.

So my first question to this forum is should I pay monthly for this online backup or is it just not worth it?
My second queestion is if the restore is as easy as Athom claims it to be?

I have 100+ devices and 200+ flows so it is totally worth it for me.
Maybe you have read about migration issues (Homey 2016-2019 to Homey 2023), it could be a challenge sometimes?

Yep, totally worth it!
If you ever have a problem or you Homey breaks down, you are VERY pleased that you have a nightly backup you can restore. The fee is very reasonable imo too.

You could make USB backups as well, but you don’t want to do that every night. And it’s a hassle, since you have to disconnect your Homey, connect it to a pc and backup manually. It takes some while too and your Homey won’t work during that time.
You will very soon forget to do such a USB backup (or at least don’t feel like doing it).

Migration from HP19 to HP23 by a backup did not work for everyone even well (mine was very smooth though), and a lot has improved since the first migrations.
But I understand you will only ever backup from HP23 to (the same or another) HP23, so that should not be a problem at all.

1 Like

There is (was?) also a online backup subscription for 12 months, which is a bit cheaper than paying every month. But to be honest, I can’t find this subscription on the Homey website at the moment.
Why should restoring a backup be difficult? If you are referring to the migration, that is a different topic.