Homey Bridge or not?

Hello
Since Homey is available as an app, why should you buy a homey bridge? Homey pro I can understand because it’s local, but what functions does a bridge contribute that you don’t get with just the app? Thinking about whether I should buy bridge or not and what the benefits are.
Thanks in advance!

Support for Zigbee/Z-Wave/IR/433/BLE devices.

I have seen that they have support for all these protocols. But take, for example, the Philips hue that runs zigbee. You can link all products via the app and do not need Homey bridge. So when do I need homey bridge?
Sorry if these are stupid questions, but I’m new to this :slight_smile:

No you don’t need homey bridge when you only have Hue. You can buy all domotica products with and/or without bridges. All functions great.

But if you want to use ure hue lamp together with another( better, cheaper, prettier) motion sensor Homey is a solution.

I have the Homey Pro and an example; when the rainsensor(Netatmo) is not wet, and the lights out(Hue) and the soil is dry(Gardena) and everyone is in bed(3 motion sensors Hue and Aqara) turn on the watering(Gardena).

So it is not a must, but you can do awesome things with Hue. Hue bridge has some limitations which Hue Pro hasn’t, but the Pro cost some extra money.

Is Homey the best there is? No, at this moment there isn’t a Best product in domotics. But Homey offers a lot, with a nice interface. There are others(cheaper, more expensive, smaller, prettier, even for free, it’s just what fits you the most.

1 Like

Thanks alot, now it clears up a bit :slight_smile: So the aim is to avoid buying more different bridges. I have, for example, a roborock vacuum cleaner that I would like to add, how do I proceed? And i also have a meross garage opener i can’t seem to find them in the app. So then I can add them if I have a bridge?