Hard to select device model when adding devices

I’m a new Homey Pro user. I’m experimenting and planning a move from Telldus to Homey.

I’m strating off trying to add my 400 (edit 433) MHz devices (mostly battery powered remotes and in wall switches/dimmers and power plug switches/dimmers). Later I will add temp sensors, thermostats and various other stuff.

When using Telldus, there is a list of supported device types from all major brands. For example under Nexa, you find:

• Self learning on/off wallplug
  • Self learning dimmer wallplug
  • Self learning on/off in wall
  • Coded doorbell
  • Selflearning doorbell
  • Remote
  • Door/window sensor
  • Day/night sensor
  • IR-detector
  • Other coded units

That works well, as the user knows what type of unit is beeing added.

When adding units in Homey there are model numbers listed. Approximately the same numer of models as there are types in Telldus. When selecting a model of the the correct type but other model number than in reality it seems to work well. However, the user must know exactly what type of unit the listed models in the app are.

What is the reason behond this? It means the user most likely needs to either do trial and error or google model numbers to find a similar model for the device type desired. This does not make sense. Why not list device types instead?

As I don’t have any Nexa devices I can’t replicate this. The Homey Web App has a new feature where it does seem to show devices in a list showing type, however I’m not sure whether you can add devices here

That is the trick, Homey will check what device is added (a device type number is checked), and if you had chosen the wrong type, Homey will still add the right type. You also can go to the device “homey” and there chose “'Zigbee” or “z-wave”, and Homey will find the right type for you, as long as there is an App for it, otherwise the device will be added as a general device (with very limited function)

1 Like

Thanks for replying.