Conditional Concepts

Hi guys, i’m a newbie so you will probably have a good laugh now and then.

I seem to be having trouble understanding the concept of if …(A)… and …(B)… or …©… then…(D)… else …(E)…

To my understanding:

If A and B are true then D
If A and C are true then E

So i’ve created a flow to watch tv based on the time of the day with sun events. Whether i need a light scene (Hue) in the living room during this flow depends on the time of the day.

A = when someone says ‘i would like to watch tv’
B = it is between sunrise and sunset
C = it is after sunset
D = turn on tv, receiver, set volume
E = turn on tv, receiver, set volume, activate ‘Chill-scene’ (Hue)

I’ve tried this tonight (after sunset) but the checkmarks appear next to events of D where i expected the checkmarks to appear next to E

What do i miss here?

If… then… else, have greater precedence over AND, OR. The way they homey app works is give OR precedence over AND

So, If A and B are true then D is correct. But ‘if A and C are true then E’ is not correct, D would ‘run’. With parentheses it’s more clear maybe
if (A and B) OR © THEN (D) else (E)

The thing is you can recreate a different behavior by duplicating cards. So,
If (A and B) OR (A and C)
would be the same as
If (A) AND (B OR C)

You just need to notice which one takes precedence.

Thanks Yianni, but is still don’t get it. How should i configure my flow then?

For ‘IF’ i can only use 1 card so it is not possible to duplicate cards using A twice.

I could be wrong but would a simple if/else statement work for you what you want?

The main change which simplifies things is - if its not day time, then it must be night time and you don’t need the ‘or’.

1 Like

Sorry I misunderstood your post. Looking back at the original post, it seems it should work. You created two separate flows, right?

@Jamie, thanks for your next-level explanation :ok_hand:t4: