[APP][Pro] Tapo

Hello, I’m very new to this so bear with me.
I created this topic to have a place to complain about and make requests for devices in the unofficial Tapo app (and yes, I’m the developer)

Getting started
After you install the app go to the app’s settings and add the Tapo username and password.
These are used to authenticate to the device.
Wifi devices need to be on the same network with your Homey.

It is also recommended to give your Tapo device a fixed ip address, because after adding the device to homey, this address will be saved, and used everytime homey connects to the device.

It currently uses MAC discovery so it might not find the device but you can post the first 3 parts of the MAC here and I’ll add them to discovery list.

TL;DR

1. Set static ip to the device
  2. Add username and password in the app settings
  3. Add a device, if the device is not found probably the MAC is not in the list. Post it here (the first half of it)
  4. Report any bugs you find

Supported Devices

• L510 (onoff, dim)
  • L930 (onoff, dim, colors, effects)
  • L900 (testing)
  • L920 (testing)
  • P100 (*with P110 driver [alpha version])
  • P110 (onoff)
  • P115 (onoff)
  • P110M (Requested)
  • P300 (Requested)

Rejected

• C100 (Use with Onvif app)

Future plans

• To support more devices but since I don’t own them I might need your help with informations.
  • To add Cloud discovery (Added manual IP setting instead)

So let me hear you.
How can I help ?

4 Likes

First of all, welcome to the Homey Community!

To make sure you are aware of the forum rules, please read the Welcome to the forum post here.

As for a app specific topic, the common practice is to have the first post in the topic to describe the app and possibly some helpful usage guide.

I couldn’t find this app in the Homey app store. Are you the developer and it has not been published yet?

Thank you.
Is it better now ? Do I need to add something else ?

1 Like