When nobody is home

Hi All,

Please bear with me, I’m new to Homey and am having trouble setting up a very simple flow. I want to do the following:

When:

• Nobody is home
  • and it is night

Then:

• Turn on light X after random time
  • Turn off light X after random time

The second part I’ve figured out. The problem I’m having is that the only Presence flow card which makes sense is ‘when the last person leaves’. That’s not a state, but more a change in state. So my flow works for one night, but not the next night. There is no Presence card ‘when nobody is home’ and I don’t understand why. All my previous HA controllers used to have that function.

Any help greatly appreciated

WHEN

• it is getting dark
    AND
  • nobody is home

Yes thank, the issue is there is no Presence state ‘nobody is home’. Only ‘when the last person leaves home’, which is a change of state, but not a state. So this only works once, but not the next day anymore if I’m away for more than one day.

The presence cards are different for WHEN and AND, triggers and states.
So there is a card “No one is home”, the second one in the picture below.

Oh wow, thank you! That doesn’t make any sense at all, but you are right. But if I do it the other way around there is no more state ‘when it’s after sunset’, only ‘when the sun sets in X mins’. I. Guess I will just out 0 there. Great help, thank you.

Other question: so I switch lights on randomly with a delay of 50-270 mins. Then I want them to stay on for a random time and then go off. If I choose Switch off after X seconds, does it relate to when they switched on or is it counting from the beginning of the flow?

Edit: I’m confused what to choose when it says ‘Switch light off after X seconds’ and Delay of Y Minutes. I want to switch the light off after a random time AFTER it was switched on (not from when the flow started). Do I set this with X or Y?

Many thanks