Help me understand homey's thinking

Hi all! I’m new to Homey, but love trying things out untill it works. Find it interesting to try understand the logic of homey. The way I need to think to get flows working. But really could use your help…

In my kitchen i have a Sensor (aqara P1) and 2 :bulb:(yeelight).
Now I want the lights to turn on when i walk in the kitchen, and turn off when i leave the room.

Ive tried many different flows, but the one working for me is with a timer, but its with 3 flows… I think it works, tried it once, and worked. But didnt try it for being in the kitchen for more than 5 minutes…
I’ve copied it from this forum.
But i don’t understand why i need to switch the timer off in step one… because there was no timer set upfront…

Can anybode explain this to me so in the future i know how to think with homey…

My sensor is set to 29 seconds of blind time.

I have:
Flow 1
If
Sensor is ON
And
Brightness is lower than 40lx
Than
Turn on lights
Stop timer Kitchen

Flow 2
If
Sensor is Off
Than
Start kitchen timer for 30 sec

Flow 3
If
Timer is empty
And
Sensor is on
Than
Set kitchen timer for 30 seconds
Otherwise
Turn of lights

Anybody have a improvement for me?
And why do i start with turning timer off?

With standard flow (not advanced flow) you should not think about ‘too much flows’. It is what it is, while multiple triggers are impossible. i’ve seen figures like 900 flows on a Homey

So you have at least one ‘On’ flow and one ‘Off’ flow for switching a device, unless you switch it off after a fixed delay in one flow.

Correct. It is used for when the zone is inactive and the timer, which turns of the light, has started, but the zone gets active again while you move, or came back in a short while. This way the light doesn’t turn off and the timer is restarted again when the zone gets inactive.
I use zone activity mostly, while it is independent from the used sensors. You can add one, or replace one, without having to repair all related flows.