Way to check how a device/flow was triggered?

Is there a way to check what triggered something? Was it triggered by a flow? By a device action? Directly from the app? Something like this could be useful :slight_smile:

Something like this?

1 Like

Hi @Tiwas ,
The best idea to start wit is the one of @Morgan .
If that is not sufficient you can use your flows to add some debug information. The easiest ist to create a variable where you write in the triggered event. Unfortunately it is less trackable, so you might send some notes via push-notifications, WhatsApp, Signal, Signal or e-mail.
And you might find some other ways to log the state, but I have no experience with them.
Hope that helps :smiley:

@Morgan Can I access this from a flow?

It is already built in the mobile app and the web app.

Another logging I like to use is to append notes in a google sheet. You need to use flowcards for this and the homey app Sheets.

No, I need to check it in the flow. Like “if this was initiated by a flow, do this. If this was initiated by physical key, do this”

Device Capabilities app!

2 Likes

Thanks! Will look into that. At least, detecting if it was a device firing the flow will help :slight_smile:

True, but it reports the user and used client as well, like web app, mobile app, dashboard Y

You wrote

I don’t understand the difference:
Someone or some device always starts a flow? It doesn’t decide to run by itself.
Can you elaborate on this, please?
Maybe you mean the “trigger every Thursday” flows?

Also, do take a look at the Audit app. Great logging tool.