Ignoring original designers/developers

A few days ago, Homey Developer Award winners were announced.
In itself it is very thoughtful of Athom to appreciate developers, but…

I was an active developer in the beginning, but stopped because Athom’s update policy was unworkable.
With every firmware update, apps had to be updated to keep them working, even when the app was not affected by the new system update.

For example, I was the developer of an elaborate tado app, but my very first and most beloved project was “LED Ring Collection”. This app is completely developed by me, including ALL LED patterns.
Because Athom has an unworkable update policy, which would end the operation of LED Ring Collection, I transferred the app to Martijn Poppen for maintenance and further development. Mainly because I thought it was unfair that users were being duped by Athom’s compulsive update policy.

A few days ago I saw that Martijn Poppen has received a Homey Developer Award for LED Ring Collection.
And as far as I’m concerned, another line has been crossed by Athom.
Ater 4 to 5 years I transferred the maintenance of the app in 2021, but legally the creative property ALWAYS remains with the artist, as applies to all other creative works such as music pieces, drawings, paintings, book texts, etc. This legal provision takes precedence over any conflicting terms.

The entire basic design of the app was done by me, including the creative input of all the LED patterns.

Martijn has provided compatibility with firmware update and an additional selection setting to save memory, but the blog writes: “His most popular app, LED-Ring collection, has made many living rooms light up in beautiful patterns.”.
I certainly give Martijn Poppen SOME credit, but it goes too far for me when the original creative input is completely withheld, while other apps do mention an acquisition!
This crosses the line on plagiarism to me!

3 Likes