Are there any best practices for building advanced flows?

I have been using a Homey 2019 for several years now. I have a large number of different devices with various protocols mixed together, ranging from lights and a multitude of sensors to shutters, and from heating with smart radiator valves to a weather station and more.

I started with Basic Flows, and later, when Advanced Flows became available, I gradually rebuilt all my flows.

At the moment, I have divided my flows into those that detect something, such as light levels, temperature, or presence, and those that control something, like shutters or lights.

The first category sets variables, and the second category is triggered when values in combinations of variables change.

The second category of flows is divided by the type of device to be controlled, e.g., lights. For lights, I have one large flow that controls all the lighting in the house.

The advantage of this approach is that there are relatively few flows. The disadvantage is that all the flows have become quite large and difficult to manage.

Now I’m considering rebuilding the second category and creating a flow for each room, where all relevant actions for that room, such as heating and lighting, are managed.

Now I’m wondering which option puts the least strain on the Homey: fewer large flows or many small flows? And what is the impact of using a large number of variables on the Homey?

Does Atom have an overview of best practices for building flows that balance the load on the Homey and the clarity of the flows?

1 Like

I asked this question some year ago and the answer is that it doesn’t matter whether you put all flows in one big advanced flow or split them up in small once.
Big flows might affect the browser and of course visability.

My suggestion is that you create folders for your rooms for lights and such, and folders for different types of sensors. Only have related flows in the same advanced flows.