Aqare P1 sensor?

Hello all knowledgeable people :sweat_smile:

I need your help as I am quite new to Homey. I have only used simpler things before such as Hue and Telldus before. But now I’m learning slowly, and find it exciting and fun with what Homey can do.

I have for the first time in my life bought a motion sensor, an Aqara P1. My idea is that it should sit in the kitchen. Turn on the lights every time we go out, and turn them off 30 seconds after we leave the kitchen. Naturally, it should be lit as long as we are in the kitchen. I understand that I must make a flow that says that when movement occurs, the lamp must be lit. But how about turning the light off, 30 secounds after we have leave the kitchen? What are e.g. reset motion and blindtime that are in the homey app? If I set sensitivity to low, does the sensor “see” shorter distances then?

Hope someone can help me with answers to these questions. Little stupid that Aqara does not ship with a manual, other than how to mount the sensor.

Have a good day! :rofl:
// Per

Most sensors have a default ‘blind time’ of 60s. This way the battery can last longer, while the sensor holds the motion alarm for 60s. and doesn’t respond to motion events in the meantime.
And switching lights of after 30s., to me it’s way too ‘nervous’, but everyone has different preferences.

In the device settings, you should find an entry somewhere, where you can edit the blind time for instance.

In this topic, you find several light controlling flows, and you can import those flows:

“Reset motion alarm after”: If no motion during this time the motion alarm will be turned off. Every motion during this time will prolong the alarm-on with this time.

“Motion sensor blind time”: After the motion alarm is turned off by above setting (i.e. no motion for above time) the motion sensor will not respond to any motion during this time, this to save some battery as mentioned by Peter_kawa.