A couple of general questions

Hello there,

Im new to homey and after quite a bit of research, i have a couple of questions:

1. If i buy a (standard) Homey, is it easy to just transfer all settings to a Homey Pro (in case i decide to upgrade)?
  2. Am i right that some of the accessories (light light bulbs, motion sensors, thermostats) can talk to homey directly and for others I need to install apps in Homey?
  3. If question 2 is right, is there any reason to chose for accessories that talks to homey without app?
  4. I heard that using alot of motion sensors may lead to disturbance as homey needs to work hard to keep track of all the information. I ve read that the solution for that is to let them only update every like 5 seconds or so. Is there any way to avoid that?
  5. If i need a motion sensor only (no other built in options), is there any reason why i should choose for like the fibaro over the xiaomi aqara one?

Thank you very much. After this information, i ll be ready to buy everything :slight_smile:

Glenn

1 Like

Hi,

Back up and Restore which is currently being beta tested will allow for an easy upgrade path to a Homey Pro.

All devices need to have an app installed, but that’s ok they are free and you can search for the app you need and install with one click.

Perhaps more importantly some devices connect directly to homey. (Zigbee/zwave/wifi) While others may require a third party Hub which the app connects to rather then the actual device.

This isn’t up to Homey it’s simply what the third party has allowed access to. In some cases there is an offical app which connects to the gateway and an unofficial app which can connect directly to the device (Philips Hue)