Is there a frigate alternative to homey pro?

Hello,

I’m quite new to domotic and happy owner of an homey pro early 2023.

By viewing some videos about domotic, I discovered the frigate app, that allow to have AI powered detection with camera insteaf of just movement detection, which add a whole new level to possible automations.

Unfortunately, it seems to be made to work with home assistant, I wonder if there is some alternatives already available for homey.

Thank you

I was wondering what Frigate is…

A complete and local NVR designed for Home Assistant with AI object detection. Uses OpenCV and Tensorflow to perform realtime object detection locally for IP cameras.

Use of a Google Coral Accelerator is optional, but highly recommended. The Coral will outperform even the best CPUs and can process 100+ FPS with very little overhead.

So not exactly but maybe take a look on :
Face++
License plate recognition

Thank you for the answer, I will look at this !

Frigate can run separately outside of Home Assistant Operating System. Frigate can also publish events over MQTT so I don’t see any problem with integrating Frigate to Homey.

Some privacy aspects might be involved. Especially when you upload your pictures to Google.

@Zmove I have been working on this over the Christmas break and have an initial app waiting to be approved for the store.

Hi Nicolas,
Was your app approved?
I’ve been using Frigate with Home Assistant for the last year and consider it to be one of the best HA integrations, especially for the multi-function Lovelace dashboard widget which is a great piece of UI design.
However, I’m increasingly interested in switching to Homey Pro to reduce the overhead of expanding and maintaining my home automation system.
I’d be really interested to see what you’ve done!
All the best,
Jerry

Hi @Jerry_McCrohan,

Yes the app is publicly available. It’s pretty crude for now but you are welcome to test it and I would appreciate feedback.