How to securely store username and password for an API within my app

Hi all

Complete newbie homey app and Java script developer here, building my first app and I’m looking for advice on how to securely store a user’s username and password entered into app settings for my app.

The app accesses an API that uses JWT for authentication. Each issued JWT expires after 7 days so I will periodically make a new API call to get a new JWT. That API call takes as parameters the user’s username and password for the api.

Since this is security related I don’t want to do this by trial and error and get it wrong. Please could someone point me in the right direction or even better point me at a code example of how best to persist a username and password entered into app settings in my homey app?

Thanks in advance.
Jon

See ManagerSettings - Homey Apps SDK v3

this.homey.settings.set('username', username);

to get

const username = this.homey.settings.get('username');

Perfect. Thanks Mickel

Please do know that your App Settings can be read by ANY App that has access to the Athom-Api (no permission for your app is needed).
There are a lott of ways the settings are include, but for example:
return await Homey.apps.getAppSettings({id:'nl.qluster-it.DeviceCapabilities'})
So, some apps, like my lovely Device Capabilities, will “recieve” that information also (It itterates through the Apps).

So, the only way to be save (well, relativly) is to have it encrypted and have the keys only in memory (your app).

Reading out your sourcecode is not possible with other apps (atm), so it’s “save” to have active keys in memory on your own Homey.

Thanks Arie. I will look into how I can do encryption then

1 Like

Devices also have a Store for saving data. It might be that other apps cannot read that, im not sure.
You can create a device like AVD (it uses that store) and then check the device in HS to see if you can see the store value.
(Sorry, i cant do it, im on my phone)