Get value from MQTT and set a variable

Hello,

my idea is to receive a value over MQTT or HTTP request and write this value to a virtual Device or variable.

In case of MQTT there is a tag “message received from topic”, but this tag is only available for comparison/Logic in the AND flow. I see no possibilities to use the value that is in the message Tag to use it in the THEN flow.

I think the main reason will be, that the message is a STRING and it has to be converted to a number before it can be used for a “set value”.

Are there any other possibilities to receive values from outside and use this values in homey flows?

thanks!

I had the same issue and used Homey script to convert the value to an integer.

to use HomeyScript sounds good. Bu I have no experience with that.
Can anyone help me to program this function to get a start?

My idea is to create a general function with two arguments.

StringToNumber(String, Number)

thanks!

1 Like

ok, I found a solution:

HomeyScript that converts the argument to a number and create a Tag “RetNum” with the result

// Converts a atring to a number
var MyNum = parseFloat(args[0])
await setTagValue("RetNum", {type: "number", title: "RetNum"}, MyNum);
return true;

The flow looks like this:

3 Likes

I am trying to do the same thing but from my weatherstation.
But I have never used homeyscripts and get a error message trying this script.
The value look like this:
{ 17.9 }
The script I wrote looks like this:
await setTagValue(“RetNum”, { “number” }, MyNum);
return true;

Get error Unexpected token }: Unexpected token }

The construct { "number" } is invalid JS code, I think you mean this:

await setTagValue("RetNum", { type : "number" }, MyNum)

That worked.
But I dont get my virtual device (temperature) to update.
Running this flow

How do I know if my tag is a STRING or VALUE ?

I’ll have to defer to people that know more about flows under v2 than I do. But a few potential problems come to mind: