device.setCapabilityValue duration

Hey all,

I just started dabbling in HomeyScript, and am quite new to JavaScript (fortunately I have some background in C and Python to help me along) but I came upon an issue with the setCapabilityValue function.

Essentially, I’m trying to set the Hue of a light over a certain duration. I notice that the setCapabilityValue function has an option ‘duration’, so I call the function as follows:

device.setCapabilityValue('light_hue', hue, 30000);

But when the light changes hue, it does so instantly (i.e. it doesn’t gradually change the hue over the defined time). When I try the similar thing with a Flow card, it works perfectly (but for my purposes I would really like to do it within a homeyscript, as it allows me to combine 8 or more flows into one script…)

I’m not sure whether I’m supposed to provide this duration in milliseconds (as example) or as seconds, or whether I am wrong in any case to just provide the argument as an integer (maybe I have to generate some special Options Object or something?) Device - Homey Web API

All advice is welcome… Many thanks!

According to the documentation, the call should look like this:

device.setCapabilityValue('light_hue', hue, { duration: 30000 });

No, that also doesn’t seem to do the trick :frowning: The lights still change hue instantly (I even rebooted Homey to make sure the new js version was used)

In that case it’s likely that the documentation just isn’t correct. The SDK method to set a capability value doesn’t have a duration either, and I would think the Web API uses that method under the hood.

Maybe the 30000 is out of range, as 30000 seconds is a lot of seconds (yes, duration is in seconds, not milliseconds)

Thanks for the info on the time unit!
It still doesn’t work though :frowning: