Ring keypad and other Ring Security System devices

Ring has recently announced there V2 version of their Security System, resulting on a decent price drop on their V1 System and separate components.
That made me order the Ring Keypad (V1*) even though there’s no support for it in Homey :slight_smile:
I’m busy creating an app for it and it’s looking good, it’s a Z-Wave device and can be easily integrated to be used with Homey, the most work will be creating a usermanagement system.

Now I’m wondering how much interest there will be to also add support for the other Security System devices they sell such as the Motion- and Door/Window Sensor.

If there’s enough people interested in using Ring Security System products with Homey I’ll order some more parts and (try to) integrate them into the app.

Current deals can be found here (NL): Collecties – Ring

Oh, and on when it’s done: I have no idea, I’m no developer and do all this in spare time and want this to be of the same quality Heimdall

* Why creat an app for an old version?
Well, the V2 version is not available yet. Also, the V2 version uses Frequently Listening Receiver Slave (FLiRS) and that’s something that Homey doesn’t handle well so I’m not even sure if integrating it into an app will happen.

Check out the app here: Ring Security - Extend Heimdall with Ring Security products

3 Likes

When it’s possible to connect de keypad with heimdall it’s 100% sure I whould use the app!

1 Like

Absolutely! That’s the main goal.
At first you will need to create some flows to connect the keypad to Heimdall but at a later time it will be through app-to-app communication without the need for a user to create and maintain flows.
I’m working on a roadmap, any feedback is welcome.

1 Like

Progress report; App-to-app communication between the Ring and Heimdall app is working, so no need for flows.

Here’s what Heimdall’s log shows when entering a code and pressing an action key on the Ring Keypad