# \[Info\] Homey - Homey Bridge - Homey Pro Maximums / Limitations

**URL:** <https://community.homey.app/t/info-homey-homey-bridge-homey-pro-maximums-limitations/51811>\
**Category:** Questions & Help\
**Tags:** homey, homey-pro, homey-bridge\
**Created:** [September 17, 2021, 3:04pm UTC](https://community.homey.app/t/info-homey-homey-bridge-homey-pro-maximums-limitations/51811 "2021-09-17T15:04:05Z")\
**Posts on this page:** 1\
**Showing post:** 1

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Dijker](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/d/b9bd4f/32.png) [@Dijker](https://community.homey.app/u/Dijker)\
**Post date:** [September 17, 2021, 3:04pm UTC](https://community.homey.app/t/info-homey-homey-bridge-homey-pro-maximums-limitations/51811/1 "2021-09-17T15:04:05Z")

</div>

Seeing a couple of questions and suggestions about combinations that are just not possible I want to clarify some of the limitations.

As from the Launch of the Homey Bridge 7th September 2021 Homey is a mobile “App” connecting a (Cloud) Service. The older Homey’s (Models Early 20xx) are re-branded as Homey Pro and Athom promised to treat them equal to the Homey Pro (with 2 Core CPU) regarding Firmware updates and service.

**Difference in Apps from Athom App store**  
_First of all, as this are most of the Questions!_

- Homey ( ‘Cloud’ With or Without Homey Bridge )  
– **only** support official apps from  
Verified Developers  
( Community apps are not supported, in the appstore is displayed which apps will work on the bridge and what devices are available)  
 ![image](https://us1.discourse-cdn.com/flex025/uploads/athom/original/3X/4/c/4c6bd661f3555e96e8eb799dcda859d67b6f4647.png)

- Homey Pro (all white models)  
– will support ALL apps, from Athom, verified Developers and many Community apps.  
(unless Developer only published for ‘Cloud’)

**Email/user**  
To use a Homey / the Service you need an Athom-account. Each Athom-account needs an unique email address.  
Every person (user) should have an own Athom-account, you can share credentials but that’s not the purpose. (fe using presence)

**Athom-account**  
Every Athom-account can have multiple Homey Pro’s (“unlimited”\* as Owner or manager/user/guest)  
Every Athom-account can create a maximum of ONE Homey (Cloud Service) with or without a Bridge as owner. You can be invited by Other Owners to their Homey with or without a Bridge .

**Homey’s**  
A Homey or Homey Pro can have exactly ONE Owner and “unlimited”\* users (family, defined as manager/user/guest)

**Homey Bridge**  
A Homey (Cloud) can have a Maximum of **One** Homey Bridge  
A Homey **Pro ̶c̶a̶n̶’̶t̶ ̶h̶a̶v̶e̶ ̶a̶n̶ ̶H̶o̶m̶e̶y̶ ̶B̶r̶i̶d̶g̶e̶**. (See reaction in AMA session on Youtube)

> This is changed with Homey Pro (Model Early 2023) with [Homey Bridge Satellite Mode](https://support.homey.app/hc/en-us/articles/7263667137052-Setting-up-Satellite-Mode)  
> Only available for Homey Pro (Early 2023) in latest firmware’s, multiple Bridges are possible (nut defined, not yet tested 😉 )

**Devices/App’s**  
A Homey (cloud) without Premium \*\* subscription is limited to 5 devices (Counting Tiles, not counting bridges!)  
A Homey (cloud) can have unspecified Apps installed. (limit to be determined, ~ 40 App without devices was no Issue.)  
A Homey Pro (Models Early 20xx 1 Core/512 MB RAM) can have ~15 - 20 Apps 2 Core/ 1GB RAM up to 40 Apps installed.  
A Homey can have “virtual unlimited”\* Devices from different Apps  
Z-Wave has a hard limitation of 232 devices in a Mesh network, limits not tested in Homey  
Zigbee has a hard limitation of ~65000 devices in a Mesh network but Athom advices not to grow beyond [~ 30-40 devices with enough routers](https://support.athom.com/hc/en-us/articles/360019239879-Advice-on-building-a-stable-Zigbee-network) The Community has reported up to ~ 70 - 80 with differences in success of stability on Homey Pro.

The Philips Hue App for Homey requires the Philips Hue Bridge. It is possible to use more than one bridge on Homey Pro (local) but maximum of one Hue Bridge in Homey (Cloud)

**Flows/Folders**  
The number of Flows is unspcified.  
The Community Reported a maximum number of 50 FlowFolders to organize your flows in Homey (cloud), this is confirmed but for Homey Pro (Local) no limit is found up till creating 132 FlowFolders.

**Other**  
All Homey’s (both Cloud and Pro) are separate entities, a user can switch between them but Homey’s don’t native “know” of each other. (Webhooks, MQTTT or other connections are possible)

Switching from Homey’s can be done after logging in/starting the App

- Go to More …
- Click on the name of the Homey below your own name
- See the Selection example below.

(As example my Homey Bridge and the one of a friend Homey (Cloud) beside multiple Pro’s I have Access to.)

 ![image](https://us1.discourse-cdn.com/flex025/uploads/athom/original/3X/6/0/60dad191cd87cfc5e6c285e8f7b71ffe92dd423a.jpeg)

- Screenshot Explicit edited and placed an **OR** between two “Cloud” Homeys as I am invited as user in one of a friend!

\*Unlimited ~ Limit not specified or communicated but should not be an issue within normal usage for consumers. Limit not tested or reported by the community.  
\*virtual unlimited ~ Homey uses [UUID’s](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Universally_unique_identifier) for Zones, Folders, Devices. This should not be a limitation although performance could degrade at some point and probably CPU/storage and usability in the Mobile App would be the limitation.

**Beta Period**  
Premium \*\* subscription is NOT yet available so during the Beta Period (duration not specified) everyone is using Homey Premium (unlimited # of devices). Athom will announce when subscription become available and the Beta Period is ending.

# Homey Energy dongle

Homey (cloud) can be used with one Homey Energy dongle (max)  
Homey Pro can be used with multiple Homey Energy dongles

---

_[View the full topic](https://community.homey.app/t/info-homey-homey-bridge-homey-pro-maximums-limitations/51811)._
